Complacency in fitness training

So here is what I know, January 31 is Hell and Back and I am ready for the shock of the ice baths, but am I ready for the rest.

Presently my fitness regime is solid.  On Monday, I run and do a spinning class.  This is high endurance spinning and has increased my stamina for running and other daily tasks.

On Tuesday I am in a high intensity body tone class.  This comprises a circuit of 40 seconds of work and 20 seconds rest.  The circuit this week was burpees, followed by lunges with the bar and weights, press ups, jumping jacks, squat with the bar and weights, planks, mountain climbers and high knees.  We completed 3 rounds of these.

Wednesday is yoga and rest day.  Thursday is a double shot of spinning and body tone, then Friday is the spinning and kettlebells.  It is hard work, but I have found my upper body strength has increased immensely.  The circuits have given me greater confidence as to how far I can push my body.  Confidence was a big thing for me after having my last child, I always knew I was strong, but I couldn’t quite seem to muster strength after he was born, so all of this work is helping me to gain the confidence needed to participate in next months challenge.

This challenge is a big deal for me.  I am stepping out of my comfort zone and trusting in others word of mouth, that I will be able for the challenge.  I am excited and fearful at the same time.  As I mentioned in a previous blog,  I am a creature of comfort.

Although my regime is going well at the moment, I fear that over Christmas I will loose my momentum, especially as my gym is not running classes over the Christmas period.  So I have decided that I will do 5 km runs over Christmas and continue swimming in the sea.  All this effort has to pay off somehow.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

